Board of Trustees

The Library Board of Trustees is a citizen's advisory board appointed by the City Council. Members serve 3-year terms.

Daly City Library Board Trustees 
LEX, William - President (Term expires 11/13/2018)
SHUBUNKA, Lynne M. - Vice President (Term expires 03/22/2019)
deVERA, Patricia Tiongco (Term expires 10/13/2017)
LOUIE, Lily (Term expires 06/27/2019)
LOGARTA, Angella (Term expires 04/27/2018)


Board of Trustees Meeting Agendas
Library Policies
Locations and Hours

Meet the Board of Trustees

William Lex


President Bill Lex was appointed to the Library Board of Trustees in 2015.  He is a founding member of the Daly City Public Library Associates and author of the 2015 Library Board of Trustees Annual Report.  Bill is a member of the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) Rotary Club and acts as the program coordinator.  He also volunteers at the SFO Aviation Museum & Library from which he received the Volunteer of the Year award in 2014 and 2015.  Bill moved to Daly City with his family in 1961.  He left for college in 1965 but Daly City was always his “home base.”  He served in the US Air Force for 4 years attaining the rank of Captain.  His educational credentials include a B.A. (Univ. of California-Santa Barbara), M.S. (Oregon State Univ.), and a Ph.D. (Univ. of Texas at Austin).  Professionally, Bill was a flight instructor and commercial pilot and a higher education administrator in Alaska, Pennsylvania, California, Illinois, and the United Arab Emirates.  He retired after serving 7 years as the Director of Fujairah Women’s College and as the founding Director for a separate college for men.  In collaboration with the American Embassy in Abu Dhabi, he established an “American Corner” in the women’s college library.  He returned to Daly City in 2007 with his wife, Diane, who is an elementary school teacher. 


For more information please contact:
   Joseph Curran, Director
   Department of Library and Recreation Services
   111 Lake Merced Boulevard
   Daly City, CA 94015