City News

Local Historian to Lead History Walk at Top of the Hill on Saturday, September 10

The first historically-focused walking tour ever sponsored by Daly City is scheduled for Saturday, September, 10, 2011, starting at 2 p.m. This free event is in recognition of Daly City’s centennial and will focus on Daly City’s Top of the Hill area, considered the oldest and most historic location in the city. History buffs, residents new and old, and students are encouraged to participate and enjoy this unique activity.

The walk will start from the public parking lot at the corner of Bepler Street and San Jose Avenue, the area that embraced John Daly’s dairy ranch from 1868 to 1907. Participants will view or visit approximately fourteen vintage locations.

Included in the walk will be views of the 1905 residence of horse breeder and entrepreneur John W. Marchbank, who brought his Yukon Gold Rush wealth to the Top of the Hill and established gambling casinos; the pre-incorporation hub of the area’s business and entertainment activities; the building that housed the saloon in which volunteers organized to fight fires in 1907; the extensive remnants of John Daly’s rock quarry that provided railroad foundation stability throughout San Francisco and the San Mateo peninsula, and the “Where Daly City Started” commemorative plaque near the entrance of Crocker Masonic Temple. Some Top of the Hill buildings, primarily constructed between 1905-1911, are still in use although modified over the years.

The history walk will conclude at the Daly City History Museum, 6351 Mission Street, the site of Daly City’s first public library. The museum is sponsored by the Daly City/Colma History Guild.

pokets, poket's, saloon, daly city saloon, volunteer fire department, top of the hill

Pokets Saloon as it appeared in 1909.  The structure still stands on Mission Street, though it is no longer a saloon.