City News

Municipal, School and Special District Election on Tuesday, November 8

The County of San Mateo is conducting a Consolidated Municipal, School and Special District Election on Tuesday, November 8, 2011. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Election Day. Vote by mail ballots must be personally mailed or returned by the voter to the San Mateo County Elections Division at 40 Tower Road, San Mateo, the satellite location at 555 County Center, 1st Floor, any City Hall (during normal business hours) or any active polling place on Election Day within San Mateo County. Ballots must be received by the Elections Office by 8 p.m. on Election Day, November 8.

The Election will include the Daly City City Council (one seat to fill a two-year term) and the San Mateo Community College District (three seats, four year terms), add one local ballot measure (Measure H – a Bond Measure for the San Mateo County Community College District).

The candidates vying for one seat on the City Council in Daly City are:
Raymond A. “Ray” Buenaventura, Richard R. “Rich” Brugger, and Nick Occhipinti.

Candidates seeking a position on the San Mateo County Community College District are:
Patricia Miljanich, Jaime Diaz, Joe Ross, Dave Mandelkern, Karen Schwarz and Michael G. Stogner.

The Jefferson Elementary School District Board of Education and the Bayshore Sanitary District did not qualify enough candidates for an election. Joseph Otayde and Shakeel Ali will fill the two seats on the Jefferson Elementary Board of Education.

Walter V. Quinteros, Norman J. Rizzi, and Mae Ellen Swanbeck will fill the three open seats on the Bayshore Sanitary District Board of Directors. No challengers sought the positions.

Voters must have been registered at their current residence address on or before October 24, 2011 to vote in the November 8, 2011 election.